John Davy – Biz Network Guy

Oh Oh there must be 300 people out there!

Oh Oh there must be 300 people out there!

 

That was the first thing that hit me as I walked in the room. Quickly followed by, “How the frarp did I get myself into this?”

How did I get myself into it? I didn’t!  I got a call from the boss who was sitting by a pool in Dubai. It went along the lines of “JD I’ve cocked up. I agreed to do a talk for Lloyds bank about the olympic games. Can you sort it out. Should be just for a few of their people etc etc”

Oh oh there must be 300 people out there!

That was the first thing that hit me as I walked in the room. Quickly followed by, how the ***$ did I get myself into this?

How did I get myself into it? I didn’t. I got a call from the boss who was sitting by a pool in Dubai. It went along the lines of “JD I’ve cocked up. I agreed to do a talk for Lloyds bank about the olympic games. Can you sort it out. Should be just for a few of their people etc etc”

Ok, so we had a fairly interesting set of events to talk about which helps. The company I was working for at the time will build the equestrian venue for the Olympic games in london this year. (embed time lapse) In simple terms we were there to level out a hill, enabling the show jumping and equestrian events to happen in the middle of London, with a great view.

Having talked with the PR girl from the bank, I put together a presentation which got saved on a memory stick and went home. Next day I made my way to a hotel near Gatwick (just south of London) and walked into a room that has a fair few people in it and about 300 chairs. There are more PR people than you can shake a stick at and a production crew that could film an episode of ER.

The immediate reaction was to start feeling those butterflies start to take flight. I had arrived in good time (a good hour before kick off) for those initial butterflies to go on Facebook and invite their mates along to what was obviously going to be one of the better parties of the year!

I then went through the joy of meeting the range of Olympic Athletes and other well seasoned speakers (who were all talking themselves up) and appearing particularly relaxed. The icing on the cake came with the schedule, when I hear I’m going last. Also the presentation I have is too long for the slot and can they only play a short video section… Oh Joy!

Cut to an hour later and the seats are full. Not only that, but they are even standing at the back. One thing I am noticed was that the nearer to kickoff,the more the others are started to look a little nervous with a bit of sweat starting to appear. Good sign, its not just me then..

So the show goes on and as time goes by I am sitting and listening to other speakers. They are talking about some pretty dull stuff like insurance and how to encourage environmental awareness in a company. (The latter is an important factor that the event was supporting.) Bad luck for them but good for me. The first speaker talks for 10 minutes on a monotone, the Winter Olympic Gold Medalist athlete Amy Williams follows and storms it. Finally the eco conversion guy comes on and if I’m being honest does not pull it off.

OK JD your turn. The introduction is done and I walk up on stage. A truck load of people are looking at me and then their watches. They are all hoping its all going to end soon so they can start on the drinks and the buffet.

Well here we go and as soon as the talking starts I am well past the point of no return. The fear bit starts to evaporate and the butterflies depart for some other poor wretch in another world. It turns out that I can do this and actually quite enjoy it. The way it worked for me was to be myself and tell the honest story. Did they engage with me? Hell yes , I got a first laugh on about 2 minutes and from there on in it went like a dream..

Why did it work? I believe it went well because I knew the story I was telling better than the back of my hand. It was the story of my life (at least working life) for the last year and a half. I tried to make it as natural as possible and it worked..

Afterwards there was a networking drinks party and I have to say it was the easiest i had ever been to. Why? Because they all felt they knew me and all wanted to talk. I got an endless line of people coming over to chat in the following hour or so. You couldn’t beat it for getting though to a big number of people in the same room.

At the end I saw a few people who were doing what I do on occasions which is looking to have a chat but either thinking I didn’t want to or was too busy to talk to them. I made sure that I approached and spoke to everyone I could and was probably the last to leave.

I must have done OK as the bank asked me back to speak at a further 3 events in the coming months and the experience repeated on all the occasions

The thought for the day here is that it is not always easy to find events to talk at and you might find it a tricky thing to do. It really works though and I now actively look to get speaking gigs that fit with the path I am taking. It allows you to talk to the mass and that will filter out the people who are interested in you. What do you know? They then come and find you. Marvellous.

As ever it would be great to get your thoughts and please join others like you on our Biznetworkguy email news review. You can sign up from this page. I would love to keep in touch and hear about what you are up to.

Oh oh there must be 300 people out there!

That was the first thing that hit me as I walked in the room. Quickly followed by, how the ***$ did I get myself into this?

How did I get myself into it? I didn’t. I got a call from the boss who was sitting by a pool in Dubai. It went along the lines of “JD I’ve cocked up. I agreed to do a talk for Lloyds bank about the olympic games. Can you sort it out. Should be just for a few of their people etc etc”

Ok, so we had a fairly interesting set of events to talk about which helps. The company I was working for at the time will build the equestrian venue for the Olympic games in london this year. (embed time lapse) In simple terms we were there to level out a hill, enabling the show jumping and equestrian events to happen in the middle of London, with a great view.

Having talked with the PR girl from the bank, I put together a presentation which got saved on a memory stick and went home. Next day I made my way to a hotel near Gatwick (just south of London) and walked into a room that has a fair few people in it and about 300 chairs. There are more PR people than you can shake a stick at and a production crew that could film an episode of ER.

The immediate reaction was to start feeling those butterflies start to take flight. I had arrived in good time (a good hour before kick off) for those initial butterflies to go on Facebook and invite their mates along to what was obviously going to be one of the better parties of the year!

I then went through the joy of meeting the range of Olympic Athletes and other well seasoned speakers (who were all talking themselves up) and appearing particularly relaxed. The icing on the cake came with the schedule, when I hear I’m going last. Also the presentation I have is too long for the slot and can they only play a short video section… Oh Joy!

Cut to an hour later and the seats are full. Not only that, but they are even standing at the back. One thing I am noticed was that the nearer to kickoff,the more the others are started to look a little nervous with a bit of sweat starting to appear. Good sign, its not just me then..

So the show goes on and as time goes by I am sitting and listening to other speakers. They are talking about some pretty dull stuff like insurance and how to encourage environmental awareness in a company. (The latter is an important factor that the event was supporting.) Bad luck for them but good for me. The first speaker talks for 10 minutes on a monotone, the Winter Olympic Gold Medalist athlete Amy Williams follows and storms it. Finally the eco conversion guy comes on and if I’m being honest does not pull it off.

OK JD your turn. The introduction is done and I walk up on stage. A truck load of people are looking at me and then their watches. They are all hoping its all going to end soon so they can start on the drinks and the buffet.

Well here we go and as soon as the talking starts I am well past the point of no return. The fear bit starts to evaporate and the butterflies depart for some other poor wretch in another world. It turns out that I can do this and actually quite enjoy it. The way it worked for me was to be myself and tell the honest story. Did they engage with me? Hell yes , I got a first laugh on about 2 minutes and from there on in it went like a dream..

Why did it work? I believe it went well because I knew the story I was telling better than the back of my hand. It was the story of my life (at least working life) for the last year and a half. I tried to make it as natural as possible and it worked..

Afterwards there was a networking drinks party and I have to say it was the easiest i had ever been to. Why? Because they all felt they knew me and all wanted to talk. I got an endless line of people coming over to chat in the following hour or so. You couldn’t beat it for getting though to a big number of people in the same room.

At the end I saw a few people who were doing what I do on occasions which is looking to have a chat but either thinking I didn’t want to or was too busy to talk to them. I made sure that I approached and spoke to everyone I could and was probably the last to leave.

I must have done OK as the bank asked me back to speak at a further 3 events in the coming months and the experience repeated on all the occasions

The thought for the day here is that it is not always easy to find events to talk at and you might find it a tricky thing to do. It really works though and I now actively look to get speaking gigs that fit with the path I am taking. It allows you to talk to the mass and that will filter out the people who are interested in you. What do you know? They then come and find you. Marvellous.

As ever it would be great to get your thoughts and please join others like you on our Biznetworkguy email news review. You can sign up from this page. I would love to keep in touch and hear about what you are up to.

Leave a Reply

